Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


2016 Awards

Each year at our Annual Conference, the NC Housing Coalition recognizes those individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to advocate for affordable housing. The award categories are listed below.


Sister Barbara Sullivan Award (Volunteer of the Year)

Sister Barbara Sullivan Award (Volunteer of the Year) is given for devotion and commitment to finding viable solutions and improving housing conditions for low-income families through personal commitment and sacrifice as a volunteer.

Previous winners:


Steven Whitesell Award (Professional of the Year)

Steven Whitesell Award (Professional of the Year) is given for making a significant impact on affordable housing through professional involvement by demonstrating efforts above and beyond normal role or duties as a housing Professional.

Previous winners:

  • 2016: Jeff Staudinger, City of Asheville and Louise Mack, Prosperity Unlimited
  • 2015: Gina Wong, Greenville County Human Relations Commission
  • 2014: Harriett K. Reynolds, Triangle Family Services
  • 2013: Freda Taylor, The Arc of North Carolina
  • 2012: Martha Are, NCDHHS Division of Aging and Adult Services
  • 2011: Doug George, Weaver Cooke Construction
    Lorisa Seibel, Durham Affordable Housing Coalition
  • 2010: Brian Coyle, BB&T
  • 2009: Katrina Bryant, Northeastern CDC
  • 2008: Frankie Pendergraph, Pendergraph Management, LLC
  • 2007: Michael Avery & Walter Hartman, City of New Bern
  • 2006: Lane Sarver, The Sarver Group


Bill Rowe Service to Affordable Housing Award

In 2010, NCHC renamed its Service to Affordable Housing Award to the Bill Rowe Award, to honor his continued dedication to increase quality affordable housing and improve consumer protections in North Carolina. The award was created in honor of his role as a legislative advocate, legal resource, and community partner in the work for affordable housing.

  • 2016: A. Robert Kucab, NC Housing Finance Agency
  • 2015: Pat Garrett, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Housing Partnership
  • 2014: Mary Reca Todd, NC Housing Finance Agency
  • 2013: Kevin Campbell, Habitat for Humanity of Wake County and Lew Kraus, Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity
  • 2012: Chris Estes, National Housing Conference
  • 2011: Kevin Foy, Mayor, Town of Chapel Hill
    Paul Stock, NC Bankers Association
  • 2010: Lucius Jones, NC Housing Finance Agency


Public Official of the Year Award

The Public Official of the Year Award is given to a public official who places priority on improving housing conditions and who fights for the additional resources and legislation needed to make this happen.

  • 2016: Mayor Nancy Vaughan, City of Greensboro
  • 2014: Town of Chapel Hill
  • 2013: Representative David Lewis
Document Actions